It depends upon your level of risk taking comfort. If prompted click Relaunch to close the current catalog and relaunch Lightroom Classic.
You can automate the process to delete old Lightroom backups.
Can i delete old lightroom catalogs
. Ive cleaned up deleted andor transferred many files onto an external hard drive which I will continue to do but the Previews file is just way too large and Im looking for a solution. You can also choose a catalog from the File Open Recent menu. Sothe answer would be that once youve upgraded to Lightroom 5 and youre happy with everything yes you could go ahead and delete the older catalogs.
You will find your catalog backups if you didnt change the default location for them in a folder called Backups inside your Lightroom catalog folder. So I tried deleting the entire Lightroom Catalog Preivewslrdata file. Containing The Size Of The Previewslrdata Folder.
Connect Inspire Share Photo Tips With People Who Love Photography As Much As You Do. Do not move or delete that catalog or its associated files. Based on the file names of the catalogs it looks as though those are older catalogs from earlier versions of Lightroom Classic where a copy was upgraded and the old one was left behind.
Delete the catalog LrCat and the one or more preview folders previewLrData that matches the catalog. When you delete a catalog youre not deleting any photos nor are you removing the Lightroom Classic app itself. You only need to keep old catalogs and backups of old catalogs to be able to recover from catalog corruption or what I call stupid user mistakes How many is that.
To delete a backup locate the backup folder and identify the backup folders to delete and go ahead and delete them. For more information see Uninstall or remove Creative Cloud apps Uninstall Lightroom manually and Remove photos from catalogs. You can delete it using the steps above or you can contain it a little using Catalog Settings.
Within the Lightroom catalog folder you should see a folder named Backups. This is the original LR ver 1 catalog – if you never intend to use version 1 again then you can delete this. Up got to get them back do that with Lightroom not running.
Connect Inspire Share Photo Tips With People Who Love Photography As Much As You Do. Lightroom Classic is going to be creating these Previews all the time either on import or as you use the Library module. But if you would like to know how to do this please leave a comment below and I will update the article.
When I first asked the question I was moving the Lightroom catalog to a new computer. Use that file location to open the Lightroom catalog folder. Removing Missing Folder Or Photo.
Note the name and location if your current catalog. Make sure you are deleting the correct files as there is no undo in many cases. Lightroom 2 catalog previewslrdata lightroom 2 cataloglrcat These are the catalog and previews created when your ver 1 catalog was upgraded to version 2 of LR.
The previews file size had remained manageably small until recently when I found it was causing my 512GB drive to slow down. Included there will be a direct file location. Ad Easily Share Your Love Of Photography With Others Through Lightroom Discover.
For that use the Windows Task Scheduler to create a new job and run your script file for example weekly or monthly. If you changed its location you can find the location you selected when. You can also change general preferences to specify which catalog opens when Lightroom Classic starts.
Lightroom will prompt you to remove the photos and it will tell you that it cant delete the originals because it doesnt know where they are. After following those steps you should have access to your Lightroom catalog files. And since Lightroom 5 made a copy of the catalog itll never use it again either.
You can then proceed to delete the files you no longer wish to keep. Ad Easily Share Your Love Of Photography With Others Through Lightroom Discover. Detailed instructions are currently not part of this post.
Unless you plan on reverting back to Lightroom 4 youll never use it. In the Open Catalog dialog box specify the catalog file and then click Open. You can consider moving for now the others to some safe place an external hard drive or maybe just a folder with any name you like perhaps OPPS as in Opss I.
To remove images select them and click Delete. If youve completely removed the images or folders you can also just remove the pointers to them from the catalog. My entire Lightroom Catalog lrcat file is 596MB large.
Delete all of the otherlrcat and associatedlrdata files you no longer want. Im wondering if I should just delete the Previews file. I hope that helps out.
To remove or delete a photo from the Lightroom catalog while in Quick Collection or a Collection. Using Finder or Explorer go to the folder containing the catalog you want to delete. Control -click Mac Right-click Win on the photo and choose Go To Folder in Library.
If your situation is anything like mine was itll have backups all of the way back to when you first installed. Then tap the DeleteBackspace key to deleteremove the photo from the Folder or use either of the first two shortcuts listed above.